RSS Feed

Wonderful Green Smoothies

Posted on

For the last two and a half weeks, I have been drinking lots of delicious green smoothies. They have made such a big difference to my energy levels, and also to my skin ūüôā

A green smoothie is a drink, which has lots of green leafy plants in it. I started looking into these drinks for health reasons, as I felt like my general health could be improved. 

I moved to a new¬†country over 2 years ago, and it has taken its toll on my health (increased stress, etc…).¬†Unfortunately I now succumb more easily¬†to coughs and colds, and there are times when I feel like I am always ill. I think my skin has also suffered,¬†but¬†I am not sure about this as I have recently¬†reached the big 3 0.

Two and a half weeks ago, I started reading¬†Green for Life¬†by Victoria Boutenko. It is an inspiring book, and it promotes the drinking of green smoothies for health. There are also¬†around 5 pages of green smoothie recipes of which I have tried about half. I have to say, that¬†I am so happy that I have discovered¬†green smoothies, as my energy levels are so much better now. When I wake up in the morning, I have less¬†grogginess which is so great. My boyfriend has also noticed a difference ūüôā

The book explains that by eating more leafy plants, our bodies become better balanced in terms of acid/alkali and minerals. By blending the green plants, rather than eating as salad, our bodies are better able to absorb the nutrients as the cellulose walls are broken down. Victoria recommends blending rather than juicing as the fiber is preserved, and the plant oxidises slower. Did I mention that they are also delicious?

In terms of my skin it is definately¬†more glowing. Looking at my skin now, I can’t pinpoint the actual difference, but I would say that my skin looks generally less tierd. However it’s only been 2 weeks so I hope the benefits will continue…

I urge anyone wanting to improve their health the look into green smoothies.

Leave a Reply

